Category 2 and 3 Fires Prohibited

Effective at noon today (July 24, 2020), both Category 2 and Category 3 fires are prohibited throughout the Southeast Fire District (from the US border in the south to Mica Dam in the north, and from the Okanagan Highlands and Monashee Mountains in the west to the BC-Alberta border in the east).

The ban includes the use of fireworks and firecrackers. Anyone found in contravention of a fire prohibition may face severe consequences, including if the contravention causes or contributes to a wildfire.

The BC Wildfire service is implementing this prohibition to help prevent human caused wildfires and to protect public safety. To report a wildfire, unattended campfire, or burning violation, call 1-800-663-5555 toll-free or *5555 on a cellphone.

For the latest information, visit